Vikings

image

Last week week I visited the Viking Museum in Oslo. The two big ships just blew me away. They were truly magnificent.

image

However, tucked away in the corner were two small boats, the smaller of the two being about the size of a St Ayles skiff, i.e. about 6 to 7 metres long, four oars and a cox.

image

The shape has some similarity to the St Ayles and as we know Iain Oughtred was influenced by the Scottish coastal rowing boats that in turn have roots back to Scandinavia.

I was fascinated by their rowlocks which were extremely elegant, more so than most of the arrangements I have seen on many of the St Ayles skiffs I have witnessed.

image

It it seems to me that these blokes new a lot about rowing. I think we should give their design serious consideration.

Leave a Reply

